Skip to content

escape to open country

02/03/2010
tags:


photography: lisa |earth mama|

If you feel that God doesn’t speak to you, ask yourself: When do I ever lean and loaf at my ease to enjoy something beautiful for its own sake? Do I even know how to be at ease for one minute?…Contemplation is the prayer that all of us do naturally, without thinking. If we could notice what we are doing when we are not thinking and do more of it, our prayer lives would move ahead wondrously…For contemplation is not just a remembering of God, but a forgetting, a letting go of everything we thought we knew about Him in order to take hold of something new…In stillness we slip through the fences in our minds and hearts and escape to open country. Mike Mason, Practicing the Presence of People

I rarely slip outside the fence. Oh, I scurry past the gate from time to time but I’m to preoccupied with the business on this side to venture out. Stillness does not come easily for me. In fact, I deplore it. And even when my body is still, my mind is in perpetual motion. By the looks of things, you’d think someone posted “no loitering” above my life and told me to keep moving. I’m trying to learn to be still and be silent. I don’t expect anyone else to talk to me while I’m running around and shouting. Why should He?

 Let be and be still, and know (recognize and understand) that I am God.
Psalm 46:10, The Amplified Bible

†Mike Mason, Practicing the Presence of People (Colorado Springs: Waterbrook Press, 1999), 82-84.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/03/2010 12:39 pm

    contemplation . not easy I agree . photography helps . seeing life in a different frame . lovely post . elk

  2. Denise permalink
    02/03/2010 2:01 pm

    quieting the mind through yoga is slowly helping me. My mind used to wander all over the place especially while praying or reading my Bible.

  3. 02/03/2010 3:33 pm

    I strive to be still, but I find that all the things around me distract me too often. I am learning though, through being a mother to four, to be still amidst the chaos. It’s hard work, but I try to stop often and acknowledge my surroundings, often through the lense of a camera, to “see” the now, and mentally say thank you for that moment…the colors, the sounds, the feel. It is good to be alive. Thanks for the link.

    :)Lisa

  4. 02/03/2010 4:07 pm

    Wow…I came over to say hi because your avatar image grabbed my attention….then I found myself browsing for awhile. Beautifully written blog, I could spend all day just looking at the images.

    Thank you,
    Destri

  5. 02/03/2010 4:48 pm

    This is so true. In the stillness we find God. Remembering to be still…

  6. 02/03/2010 4:49 pm

    This hits home. Thank you.

  7. 02/03/2010 7:48 pm

    Just wanted to write a little note to say I am so thankful to have found this still, contemplative space. Focusing on a single breath at a time often brings me to a place of stillness.

  8. 02/03/2010 8:59 pm

    Love Lisa.
    -beautiful and serene image…..

  9. 02/03/2010 11:10 pm

    Ooh, still. That’s a tough one. I find it most, best, when I remember to sprawl flat on my belly on the carpet with my kids, losing myself completely in one of their current flight of fancy. It doesn’t happen half as often as I’d like. Or even, half that. But oh, when it does! What I wouldn’t give for an on/off switch. Loved the “no loitering” bit — perhaps it’s a factory-issue part :)
    Molly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

