Skip to content

crafting the day

02/15/2010


photography: dani | little fists |

Loving yourself has a lot to do with slowing down…
Rather than adding one thing more every day, why not try adding one thing less?
…Try editing your days; craft them to sing concisely like memorable lines of poetry.
…Rushing is anxiety in motion.
-
Mike Mason, Practicing the Presence of People

These words stopped me in my tracks, turning my eyes away from the face of the clock and onto the face of my little girl. Life will afford us many opportunities for rushing and busying ourselves, running here and there and everywhere. So today, let’s enjoy the slowness. Let’s celebrate your being small and free. Let’s just be.

†Mike Mason, Practicing the Presence of People (Colorado Springs: Waterbrook Press, 1999), 79.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/15/2010 8:39 pm

    Yes. The best thing I ever did was saying NO so I could say YES to my children. Their childhood speeds by so very fast.

    • 02/15/2010 8:56 pm

      Saying “no”, so you can say “yes”…well spoken, Kathleen.

  2. 02/15/2010 10:46 pm

    I really appreciate this message today…this is one I’ve been getting from many angles. Thank you, Gina, for being a messenger.

    blessings~

  3. 02/15/2010 10:50 pm

    ah ..yes i will use these words to lift myself out of rushing moments.blessings friend

  4. 02/15/2010 10:50 pm

    I find that when I slow my day, and I just “do nothing”, time actually works on my side. There seems to be so much more room for enjoyment. Reminding ourselves to slow can be so contradictive to what the brain tells us, but we just need to remind ourselves over and over till we get it I suppose.

    :)Lisa

  5. 02/15/2010 11:35 pm

    Lovely, earthy image… those crochet needles are beautiful.

  6. 02/16/2010 12:37 pm

    I need this today, thank you. (And welcome back!)

  7. Jamie permalink
    02/16/2010 1:57 pm

    I so needed to hear this. Thank you!

  8. 02/16/2010 4:12 pm

    This message is a current theme in my home. We are currently trying to make our lives more simple so that I can say “yes” to things that matter. I’m going to print this out and put it on a fridge…as a reminder of what really matters.

    Thank you…

  9. 02/16/2010 6:40 pm

    Beautifully said! Thank you for the reminder!

  10. 02/16/2010 9:07 pm

    the sentiment is really good. i often feel as though i’m sitting on the edge of my seat with things to do. maybe, the thing to do is shorten the list to what i really have to do? thanks for the thought!

  11. 02/19/2010 4:33 pm

    This photo.. wow. I love it. I could frame it and put it above the woodstove! Love!
    Always such wisdom here. I am so happy for this place you have created. I always go away with such a warm and balanced feeling.

  12. 03/07/2010 2:22 pm

    I love this post. I love that quote. Reading this and writing it down, and sticking in my pocket to pull out every five minutes and remind myself…changed my life this week. Thank-you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

