Skip to content

a place to show up

02/22/2010


photography: maile | maile photography |

One of the best gifts of a journal is that it gives you a place to show up.
As you write, you may discover where you actually are.
Helen Cepero

Do you journal? Is it online or on paper? Or both?
Do you journal daily or is it sporadic?
What helps you to maintain the discipline of journaling?
What are the greatest hinderances to journaling?
Do you encourage your children to journal as well?
How has journaling shaped your life – as a person, a wife, a mother, a friend?
If you don’t journal, but would like to, what is holding you back?

†Helen Cepero, Journaling As A Spiritual Practice, (Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2008), p.32.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/22/2010 4:25 pm

    I used to keep a gratitude journal. I really need to get back to journaling. My blog time has really taken over that function. But it’s written not just for me. I need some space just for me, to come to everyday.

  2. 02/22/2010 4:55 pm

    http://www.aholyexperience.com/

    This lovely blog has some of the best journaling inspiration. I am working this delight into my daily life

  3. 02/22/2010 6:55 pm

    I journal online through my blog. I also consider Facebook a journal of sorts. I have an app on my phone that imports all my tweets and status updates. It is a perfect little one-liner about the day’s important matters.

    I kept a journal through highschool…but stopped. I just couldn’t be consistent with it. And that discouraged me, which is the opposite of what journaling should do.

  4. 02/22/2010 7:11 pm

    So much has been coming up lately as far as journaling goes. Journaling all the posative and gratitude can be such a magically empowering thing I think. I might just have to listen and start up a journal I think. Thanks Gina!

    :)Lisa

  5. 6512 and growing permalink
    02/23/2010 3:42 am

    I have been saved by my many, many written-in notebooks going back to Junior High. I’ve never re-read them but having a place to put my stories/thoughts/emotions has been a grace.

  6. 02/23/2010 6:04 pm

    I started journaling when I was 9 years old. I journaled every year after that until I met my husband at the age of 19. I think I must have known then that our lives together would be forever (10 yrs now and counting) and I wouldn’t need the constant journaling to remember who I was or what we had done, etc. Instead, we have emails, letters, notes, and memories between the 2 of us to help. Now, I just use my blog as my journal and I write down in a physical journal the sweet things I want to remember about my children and the things my son has said. :) Journaling is an art form and I love reading your inspiration here. Thank you!

  7. 02/23/2010 10:43 pm

    i journal through our blog and it’s the nicest experience as our readers join in.

  8. 02/24/2010 4:33 pm

    Beautiful picture. Just thinking about journaling on paper again. There is a nice satisfaction of writing a book that I dont get with blogging. I think once its written on paper in ink its just out there forever. I can always edit and delete my blogs. And handwriting is personal. A part of me. Thanks for added inspiration top get started again.

  9. 02/25/2010 6:40 am

    gosh, i stopped journaling years and years ago. maybe i should start up again!

  10. 03/05/2010 2:22 pm

    I’ve been journaling since I was 13. I’ve always loved to express my thoughts, cut and paste pictures of favorite things, log my activities, and the things I want to do someday….I easily filled 2 journals a year! This year is the first year I tried blogging – I didn’t need any more journals to store – and I can put in all the pictures I want too : ) So far it’s been great!!! I’m glad I can still journal, but in a more paper friendly way, and I can share it with family and friends too : ) Thanx for you blog – I love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

