Skip to content

another voice

03/21/2010
tags:


photography: hannah | honey and jam

It doesn’t have to be
the blue iris, it could be
weeds in a vacant lot, or a few
small stones, just
pay attention, then patch

a few words together and don’t try
to make them elaborate, this isn’t
a contest but the doorway

into thanks, and a silence in which
another voice may speak.
“Praying” from Thirst: Poems by Mary Oliver

And for me, the voice is His. And I strain harder. Press in closer. Most often, He comes by way of a whisper.

So He said, “Go forth and stand on the mountain before the LORD ” And behold, the LORD was passing by! And a great and strong wind was rending the mountains and breaking in pieces the rocks before the LORD; but the LORD was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire; and after the fire a sound of a gentle blowing. When Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave And behold, a voice came to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” 1 Kings 19:11-13

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/21/2010 11:43 pm

    I just love Mary Oliver. She has such a great way of connecting God to the everyday.

    Very familiar with the whisper especially when I get a little too distracted by things that are out of my control or not in line with my highest good or anyone elses . I love how this verse ends and imagine that God must be yelling this to me often and I only hear it sometimes as the faintest whisper.

  2. Denise permalink
    03/22/2010 12:51 pm

    I posted that same poem a few weeks ago myself.

  3. 03/22/2010 3:37 pm

    I love Mary Oliver. God was in the sound of a gentle blowing, beautiful.

  4. 03/25/2010 3:30 pm

    Very nice post. Simple and profound, you have a gift.

  5. 04/07/2010 8:52 pm

    Gina, this is so beautiful. I love Oliver so, but had somehow missed this one. Thank you for bringing it to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

