Skip to content

exulting in monotony

01/27/2010

exulting in monotonyphotography:  lanecia | sunshine papier photography |

Because children have abounding vitality, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, “Do it again”; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony. But perhaps God is strong enough to exult in monotony. It is possible that God says every morning, “Do it again” to the sun; and every evening, “Do it again” to the moon. It may not be automatic necessity that makes all daisies alike; it may be that God makes every daisy separately, but has never got tired of making them. It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old, and our Father is younger than we. G.K. Chesterton, Orthodoxy

Monotony. When do we begin to loathe it so? If I’m honest, there are days when my role feels more mundane than magical. The redundancy of the necessary tasks looms ominously and I retreat into self-pity before even getting out of bed. But I think that slowly – so very slowly – I am learning to look for the beauty in laundry bubbles and breakfast dishes. And I’m finding that sometimes the beauty is not directly in front of me, but lingering around the edges…

 – the bright winter sun that floods our kitchen, warming our faces while we work and play…

 – the sounds of her imagination blooming at my feet…

 – time to think.

These are only a few of the gifts that this season brings. Perhaps doing these things again…and again…isn’t so bad after all.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/27/2010 1:44 pm

    This post is so timely for me. Thank you.

  2. 01/27/2010 3:23 pm

    Not all…but certain monotonous tasks ground me. I need them.

  3. 01/27/2010 5:55 pm

    I’m right with you. I think it’s when we do find joy in all of the mundane tasks, events, happenings, etc. is when we truly settle in who we are, shinning bright and full happiness. I’m trying to get there too.

    :)Lisa

  4. 01/27/2010 6:33 pm

    “I am learning to look for the beauty in laundry bubbles and breakfast dishes. And I’m finding that sometimes the beauty is not directly in front of me, but lingering around the edges…

    – the bright winter sun that floods our kitchen, warming our faces while we work and play”

    *LOVE THIS* I agree, that is where it is at!

  5. Melody Shorey permalink
    01/27/2010 10:31 pm

    Lovely! Thank you so much!

  6. 01/27/2010 11:30 pm

    I found you from a link on GardenMama. What a beautiful post! You had me at Chesterton 🙂 Such wisdom from him and from you. Thank you

  7. 01/28/2010 1:56 am

    what a lovely and timely word. thanks for sharing.

  8. 01/28/2010 1:57 am

    How have I never read much of Chesterton? Clearly, clearly, long overdue.
    And how much I enjoyed this passage. Thank you.

  9. Heather permalink
    01/28/2010 3:11 am

    I love the photograph and good words to take to heart!

  10. 01/28/2010 4:23 am

    I am with Dani, some monotonous tasks I just need to do. They are therapeutic for me.

  11. vikki permalink
    01/28/2010 8:02 am

    My mom died suddenly in Dec. I’ve yet to find my sadness. There has been so much to do, my sister, her daughter and son-in-law moved in with me a week after she pasted, then there was car trouble, the fridge went out, etc. No time to feel anything. I’m worried about that actually. I cried at the funeral and a day or two after she passed, but I know in order to heal, I’ve got to feel the pain. God gave us all these emotions for a reason. You can’t fully feel happiness if you’ve never experienced sadness.

  12. 01/28/2010 3:40 pm

    I love Chesterton!

    …and some monotony…

  13. 01/28/2010 4:24 pm

    Loved reading this. I also perused a couple other posts, and your writing is so, so lovely!

    A sure fire way for me to keep my joy…have some time in the Word. Whether it’s before the kids get up or when they nap, I have to take some time to feed my soul on a diet of some meaty Word!

    Thanks for stopping by my neck of the woods…have a wonderful day!

  14. 01/29/2010 4:55 am

    What a neat quote that is… I had to read it over again. What insight Chesterton has. These are wonderful letters.. touching the souls of many.
    xoxo
    sarah

  15. 02/01/2010 4:05 am

    I’ve reread this again and just so blessed by the thoughts here. I linked to you in my post on “Being an Everyday Mom” Thank you.

Leave a Reply

